MENU
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

FYLPRO’s Tayo Act to Change Youth Ambassadors’ Mental Health Explained: Asian Edition Workshop

November 29 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

FYLPRO Tayo is proud to present our youngest leaders yet! High school student Youth Ambassadors: Abigail Chan, Chris Deng, Tricia Derecho, Leyao Annie Dong, Alessandra Pador & Vivian Kusnoto. In partnership with Act to Change, FYLPRO Tayo mentored & trained students on mental health and anti-bullying in Filipinx/Asian American communities. 

For their final Community Action Project, the Youth Ambassadors are leading a workshop for Asian-identifying high school students, “Mental Health Explained: Asian Edition” on Tuesday, November 29th @ 7 PM ET / 6 PM CT / 4 PM PT.

Register at tinyurl.com/fylpro-yap-register 

Workshop Description: Have you ever scrolled past a “clean girl aesthetic” TikTok? Have you ever watched an excessive nighttime self-care routine, thinking you’ll never be able to do the same? Chances are, you’re not alone. Our workshop is dedicated to dismantling western-centric, exclusive conceptions of mental health. This includes the frequent promotion of individual therapies, overemphasis on materialism, and overprescription of medication. Through discussion and action plans, we will aim to broaden typical mental health practices to culturally-grounded contexts, coming up with an “Asian Edition” of mental health. Open to Asian-identifying high school students.

 

Details

Date:
November 29
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Organizer

FYLPRO
Email:
leezel.tanglao@fylpro.org